Sign In

Our History

The Ministry of Energy was initially formed in 2005 as Energy Division under the purview of the Prime Minister’s Office. The Division regulates and overseas the development of petroleum industry in Brunei Darussalam. It was later upgraded into a Department known as Energy and Industry Department at the Prime Minister's Office (EDPMO) following the organisational restructuring of Energy Division and Petroleum Unit in May 2011. In October 2015, the Department expanded its portfolios to include the industry sector and was then known as the Energy and Industry Department, Prime Minister’s Office (EIDPMO) until 2018. Effective from 18th April 2018, the Department was upgraded to a Ministerial status. 
By the command of His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, His Majesty the Sultan has consented to change name of the Ministry of Energy, Manpower and Industry to the Ministry of Energy in order for the Ministry to fully focus on energy affairs. The change of the Ministry's name is effective from 22nd Rabiulawal 1441 H corresponding to 19th November 2019.